ODBAPA Executive Bios

Sabrina Agnihotri  (Junior RFM Rep)

Dr. Sabrina Agnihotri is a PGY-1 resident at the University of Toronto and is in her first year serving of as the Junior Resident-Fellow Representative of the Ontario District Branch of the American Psychiatric Association. She completed a Bachelor’s of Science in Psychology and Biology at York University, followed by a Master’s of Science and Doctorate degree from the University of Toronto in Developmental Neurosciences. Sabrina then went on to complete a post-doctoral fellowship in the area of pediatric brain injury at the Bloorview Research Institute, and her Doctor of Medicine degree at the University of Toronto. In her spare time, she continues to publish her research, is a food enthusiast, and loves to travel and to stay active.

Katalin Margittai (President-Elect)

Dr. Katalin Margittai is an Assistant Professor of Psychiatry at the University of Toronto specializing in Psychosomatics and Women’s Mental Health. For over fifteen years, she was the Co-ordinator of the Consultation/Liaison Service and Co-ordinator of Undergraduate Medical Education in Psychiatry at Women’s College Hospital. She currently spends most of her time in private practice, and one day a week at North York General Hospital – where she serves as Psychiatric Consultant for the North York Family Health Team, does clinical research, and runs a Mindfulness Based Stress Reduction Group.

As matriarch of her small family, she is acutely aware of the importance of setting a good example by working out regularly, and skiing, cycling, and hiking as often as possible.

In her unstructured time, she enjoys theatre, films, photography, fine dining, and cultivating relationships with family and friends.

Karen Shin (Member At Large)

Dr. Karen Shin graduated medical training from McMaster University and completed her psychiatric residency at the University of Toronto. Her practice focuses on adult general psychiatry, and is based out of St. Michael’s in Toronto, where she is the Medical Director of the Ambulatory Mental Health Service. Her clinical roles include working in an acute ambulatory mental health clinic, participating in collaborative care within a St. Michael’s family health team, co-leading psychiatric services for an intensive case management program and developing a focused practice in cognitive behavioural therapy. As part of her work, she is an Assistant Professor with the University of Toronto, and educates learners from the Faculty of Medicine.

Frank Sommers (Past-President)

Dr. Frank Sommers graduated from the University of Toronto, and is a member of its Faculty of Medicine. After a period in general practice, he completed psychiatric residency, mostly at Toronto General. His research monograph documents the pioneering history of this Hospital’s Department of Psychiatry, the first such unit in a general hospital in Canada. As a medical student, he was a co-founder of the Student Health Organization, University of Toronto (SHOUT) Clinic, offering free medical, dental and social services to the Alexandra Park community.

His career has included the private practice of psycho-sexual therapy, work with chronic mental illness at Queen Street Mental Health Centre, school psychiatry consulting, and military psychiatry service in Afghanistan while deployed with the Canadian Forces.

At a very dangerous time during the Cold War, in 1979, he initiated, and in 1984 was elected Honourary and Founding President of Physicians for Social Responsibility, the Canadian affiliate of International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War, recipients of the 1985 Nobel Peace Prize.

In 2007, he initiated, and since organizes the award winning CME Psychiatric Salons of the Ontario District Branch, American Psychiatric Association.

In 2009, he joined the Executive of the Central Toronto Clinical Society, and serves as a delegate to OMA and CMA Councils.

Dr. Sommers was elected a Distinguished Fellow by the Canadian and American Psychiatric Associations, and is recipient of the General Service Medal with ISAF bar for service with the Canadian Forces “in the presence of an armed enemy”.

He is a Life Member of the Ontario Psychiatric Association and received the Ontario Medical Association Life Member Award in 2015, and the Presidential Award in 2019.

Lily Van (Senior RFM Rep)

Dr. Lily Van is a PGY-3 resident at the University of Toronto and is serving as a senior member-in-training representative of the Ontario District Branch of the American Psychiatric Association. She completed a Bachelor’s of Health Sciences degree at McMaster University, as well as Doctor of Medicine degree at the University of Toronto. She is also in the pre-graduate stream of the Clinician Scientist Program in her psychiatry residency. In her free time, she enjoys drinking tea, travelling, and scrapbooking.

Renata Villela (President)

Dr. Renata Villela completed her Doctor of Medicine degree at the University of Western Ontario and finished her psychiatry residency at the University of Toronto (UofT). In 2014, she set up an independent community practice in Thornhill, focusing on individual long-term psychodynamic psychotherapy and couples therapy. In addition to her clinical practice, she promotes the further development of curriculum resources for senior psychiatry residents by participating in initiatives such as transition-to-practice panels and the UofT Psychiatry Department’s Standardized Assessment of a Clinical Encounter (STACER) Taskforce.

Iva Vukin (ECP Rep)

Dr. Iva Vukin is an early-career psychiatrist with experience in emergency psychiatry and urgent care; inpatient and outpatient care; and individual, group and couples therapies. She has a special interest in working with transitional aged youth and young adults.

Her background includes a five-year residency program at the University of Toronto, as well as a one-year Master of Physician Leadership Certificate, obtained through York University and in conjunction with the Ontario Medical Association. She obtained her medical degree from the University of Western Ontario, where she began her advocacy work in support of Medicare for All.